Economics | Nobel Series

Department of Economics
John Huston, Chair
Trinity University
One Trinity Place
San Antonio, TX 78212-7200
210-999-7255 fax


Bookmark and Share

Trinity's Nobel Economists Lecture Series, begun in 1984 by Professor Emeritus and former E.M. Stevens Distinguished Professor of Economics William Breit, brings some of the most brilliant and influential economists of the post-war era to campus. Based on the general theme "My Evolution as an Economist," the lectures offer rare autobiographical insights into the Nobel laureate's contributions, the sources and nature of their discoveries, and their growth and development as economists.

Transcripts of the first 23 lectures appear in the fifth edition of the 2009 MIT Press volume, Lives of the Laureates, edited by professors William Breit and Barry Hirsch. Click here to view a photo gallery of recent speakers.

Past lecturers include:

Paul KrugmanPaul Krugman
Awarded Prize: 2008
Presented Lecture: February 2011


Joseph E. Stiglitz
Awarded Prize: 2001
Presented Lecture: September 2009


Eric S. Maskin
Awarded Prize: 2007
Presented Lecture: April 2009


Edmund S. Phelps
Awarded Prize: 2006
Presented Lecture: April 2008


Thomas C. Schelling
Awarded Prize: 2005
Presented Lecture: April 2007


Edward C. Prescott
Awarded Prize: 2004
Presented Lecture: April 2006


Clive W.J. Granger
Awarded Prize: 2003
Presented Lecture: February 2005


Vernon L. Smith
Awarded Prize: 2002
Presented Lecture: April 2004


James J. Heckman
Awarded Prize: 2000
Presented Lecture: March 2003


Robert E. Lucas Jr.
Awarded Prize: 1995
Presented Lecture: April 2001


Gary S. Becker
Awarded Prize: 1992
Presented Lecture: April 2000


Myron S. Scholes
Awarded Prize: 1997
Presented Lecture: April 1999


John C. Harsanyi
Awarded Prize: 1994
Presented Lecture: 1997

Douglass C. North
Awarded Prize: 1993
Presented Lecture: 1994

Ronald H. Coase
Awarded Prize: 1991
Presented Lecture: 1994


William F. Sharpe
Awarded Prize: 1990
Presented Lecture: 1992


Robert M. Solow
Awarded Prize: 1987
Presented Lecture: October 1988


James M. Buchanan
Awarded Prize: 1986
Presented Lecture: October 1987


Franco Modigliani
Awarded Prize: 1985
Presented Lecture: March 1987


James Tobin
Awarded Prize: 1981
Presented Lecture: April 1985


George J. Stigler
Awarded Prize: 1982
Presented Lecture: April 1985


Milton Friedman
Awarded Prize: 1976
Presented Lecture: March 1985


Paul Samuelson
Awarded Prize: 1970
Presented Lecture: February 1985


Kenneth J. Arrow
Awarded Prize: 1972
Presented Lecture: November 1984


Lawrence R. Klein
Awarded Prize: 1980
Presented Lecture: October 1984


W. Arthur Lewis
Awarded Prize: 1979
Presented Lecture: 1984