Sociology & Anthropology | Student Activities

Office of Sociology and Anthropology
One Trinity Place
San Antonio, Texas 78212-7200
210-999-8509 fax
Bookmark and Share


Anthropology - Lambda Alpha
Lambda Alpha is the international honor society for students of Anthropology. The name, Lambda Alpha, comes from the initial letters of the Greek words logos anthropou, meaning the 'study of man.' As an Honor Society, Lambda Alpha serves to recognize superiority, providing incentive for exceptional performance by granting certificates of accomplishment. Dr. Jennifer Mathews serves as the sponsor for Epsilon of Texas which is the Lambda Alpha chapter in the Anthropology Department at Trinity University.

Sociology - Alpha Kappa Delta
"To investigate humanity for the purpose of service."
Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD), the international sociology honor society, was founded in 1921 by Dr. Emory S. Borgardus of the University of Southern California. The name Alpha Kappa Delta chosen because the letters represent the first letters of three classical Greek words that embody the function of society: anthrôpos, meaning mankind; katamanthanô, meaning to examine closely or acquire knowledge, and diakoneô, meaning to do service. As an honor society, Alpha Kappa Delta serves to recognize students with outstanding academic achievements in the field of sociology. Dr. Amy Stone serves as the sponsor of the Alpha Beta of Texas Chapter of Alpha Kappa Delta in the Sociology Department at Trinity University.


Margaret Mead Award

Margaret Mead, for years among the best known women in the world, was also the best known anthropologist, with a particular talent for bringing anthropology fully into the light of public attention. The Margaret Mead Award, initiated by the Society for Applied Anthropology in 1979, and awarded jointly with the American Anthropological Society since 1983, continues to celebrate the tradition of bringing anthropology to bear on wider social and cultural issues. The Margaret Mead Award is presented to a student who has shown outstanding achievements in Anthropology.

C. Wright Mills Award
For nearly two decades the Department of Sociology & Anthropology has awarded its C. Wright Mills Award, the highest honor it confers, to that Sociology major whose work best exemplifies the theories and methods of the field, and that best demonstrates the "sociological imagination." Mills' (1916-1962) notion of the sociological imagination involves understanding the intersections of biography with history, how what individuals sense to be personal problems are often socially shared, deriving from broad historical change and institutional contradictions.


The McNair Scholars Program, named after the late physicist and Challenger astronaut Dr. Ronald E. McNair, prepares students for doctoral studies through involvement in research and other scholarly activities.

The program, funded by a U.S. Department of Education grant, offers academic counseling, mentoring, research opportunities, seminars, paid summer internships, and graduate admissions guidance.
Visit the Sociology and Anthropology department office for more information on the program and how to apply.